Sacraments - San Columba

Go to content

Main menu:


For info on receiving a Sacrament, click on the desired sacrament
(Catechism of the Catholic Church)

The whole liturgical life of the Catholic Church revolves around the Eucharistic sacrifice and the sacraments.
   There are seven sacraments in the Church:
Baptism, Confirmation , Eucharist,
Penance, Anointing of the Sick, Holy Orders, and Matrimony.

The sacraments are efficacious signs of grace, instituted by Christ and entrusted to the Church,
by which divine life is dispensed to us.
The visible rites by which the sacraments are celebrated,
signify and make present the graces proper to each sacrament.

They bear fruit in those who receive them with the required dispositions.
The Church celebrates the sacraments as a priestly community
structured by the baptismal priesthood and the priesthood of ordained ministers.

The Holy Spirit prepares the faithful for the sacraments by the Word of God and the faith
which welcomes that word in well-disposed hearts.
Thus the sacraments strengthen faith and express it.

The fruit of sacramental life is both personal and ecclesial.
For every one of the faithful on the one hand,
this fruit is life for God in Christ Jesus; for the Church,
on the other,
it is an increase in charity and in her mission of witness.

Back to content | Back to main menu